I Am an Introvert

Growing up, I’d rather tag along with my mom when we would visit family friend’s house then hang out with my cousins. Going to high school, I had more friends then I needed but I think I found peace when I was alone. I liked running, painting, writing poems and reading fictional works. In many ways I still find myself to be an introvert today as I finish university. But overtime, I have developed an extrovert version of myself. I love observing and listening to other people’s stories. I am fascinated by everybody- their world and their perspectives. I don’t mind being the first to ask somebody to coffee or dinner. I do enjoy presentations and public speaking.

This video is still very helpful in understanding why I find university challenging and often alien like. Working on a class project for half a semester in my IR class, I feel frustrated and often ready to just explode. Even then somehow I’m able to keep it calm inside me, and move along every week. I have just learned that there are people who will always love to YAP and I’m just not one of them.

I just bought the book Quiet by Susan Cain. Check it out to understand the power of introverts. She has also done a TEDX video which you can find here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0KYU2j0TM4 and even check out Ammy Cuddy’s Tedx talk at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ks-_Mh1QhMc. I have watched them more then once!

Leave a Reply

